My 2013 Top Earning Stock Images #25: Senior Swiss Farmer making cheese

Stock Image: Senior Swiss Farmer making cheese
Stock Image: Senior Swiss Farmer making cheese

LogoBUYlogoISON Link to Getty Images

Uploaded: November 2012
Collection: Vetta

Probably my favorite image that I shot in Switzerland. When it was my turn, I walked in the hut and was rushed by other photographers pushing me forward, literally. “He’s making cheese! He’s making cheese! Go shoot him!” So I got the pocket wizard on and shot him… with the lights set all wrong. But he wasn’t stopping or slowing down, So I did what I could. Much of the beautiful light on this shot was actually really enhanced or created from scratch in Photoshop. But the whole thing was possible because of the way the steam catches what little light there was. After I was done editing, I felt so proud of the way this came out. I still am. So I submitted it for Vetta, thinking you can’t get more “real people doing real things” than this – and they’re partial to that kind of photos, but… wonk-wonk. It dropped in the regular collection. So I went to the forums, pimped the shot in the non-approved Vetta thread with the short quote “Really?” and, rarity supreme, the decision was reversed and it was promoted to Vetta. Happy days!

You can view all my work from Switzerland in this lightbox.

Leave a comment