New Stock Images – Five friends at Times Square

Part three of my New York City  images shot last Fall during a Getty Images event. For the first time I collaborated on this shoot with my friend and colleague Martine Doucet as well as the always talented and inspiring Lise Gagné and her creative powerhouse of a partner Louis Leblanc (rebelz). In the weeks preceding the event, after deciding to go, we facebooked back and forth, casting models and pitching ideas. Quebec power! It was nice to work with such great people… and then the models! One of the great advantages of going to a place like New-York City is the availability of such great talent. Dozens of applicants sent us their portfolios of which five were selected. They were energetic, professional, open and authentic, and helped turned a rainy, overcast, cold Autumn morning into some radiant photographs.

I shot the whole thing with my 200mm lens out of respect for my colleagues who were using other focal lengths. Obviously when you shoot in groups like this the same scenes it is important to try and get very different images as much as possible to not undercut each other. Different angles, colors, approaches and of course unique point of view and sensibilities.  So in  my case, I went for character and bright colors, with lots of close-up trying to show relationships. The atmosphere of the city is present, but mostly in colorful blurred backgrounds. And boy did I push the colors to their limits. It makes for a rather chaotic result overall, but one with the bright optimism that I saw with in so many of the young people I met there. It is after all the place where all the dreams are possible…

You can view the whole series in this lightbox or this Photoshelter Gallery . Enjoy!

FivefriendsatTimesSquare

A. © 2015 Nicolas McComber – Available for RF licensing at Istock andGetty Images

B. © 2015 Nicolas McComber – Available for RF licensing at Istock 

C. © 2015 Nicolas McComber – Available for RF licensing at Istock andGetty Images

D. © 2015 Nicolas McComber – Available for RF licensing at Istock andGetty Images

E. © 2015 Nicolas McComber – Available for RF licensing at Istock

Leave a comment