My 2013 Top Earning Stock Images #35: Elementary school friends

Stock Photo - Three kids smiling in front of a black board
Stock Photo – Three kids smiling in front of a black board

LogoBUYlogoISON Link to Getty Images

Uploaded: November 2010
Collection: Sig+ / E+

This is a small steady earner for me that has managed to have its best year to date in 2013. It was shot during the 2010 Sutton minilypse at the local school with two local kids (on the right) and the daughter of a photographer friend of mine (on the left), with whom I had the pleasure to shoot again last Summer. I remember I was rushed into this small classroom / reading room with the kids and had no time to light the space or do anything intricate, so I shot in natural light with a narrow depth of field, hoping for the best. I went for a simple cheerful friendship shot here in front of a black board for copy space, and the kids were just awesome in their abilities and attitude. You can check out other variations of this concept here and here.

I’ve since moved to this area, and it’s funny to see them 3 years later all grown up in their awkward teenage years when I do the groceries. In my mind, they’re frozen in this moment, forever. Such is the power of photography.

Leave a Reply

