Photo of the day – Self portrait with new haircut

Self portrait with new haircut
Self portrait with new haircut

Total selfish move today: I just wanted to show you my new social networking photo. I got a new haircut Monday, and shot it Tuesday, so here it is. It is such a relief really after almost a year of wearing pony tails or having stray hairs in my face all the time… Also this was the first time I used this particular lighting scheme… And I worked it until I would get something that’s at once open and relaxed as well as somewhat destabilizing in its projection of complex emotions and vulnerability enhanced by the nudity. It’s been very interesting to see so far the vast array of reactions provoked by this one – positive, negative…  ranging from homophobic statements to, at the other end,  notes stating it was refreshing and liberating. Some see sadness, some see confidence, some see courage, others defeat… Well done, I say. Isn’t that what art is about?

4 thoughts on “Photo of the day – Self portrait with new haircut

    1. thanks… yes for the main light, but the trick is I also put a strobe right behind to light up the edges around my neck and some of the hair.. it makes it all pop out that bit much and it’s quite subtle but it makes a big difference. Plus there are two large black panels next to me on each side to darken the edges… I quite like the overall effect.

Leave a Reply

