Back from Sutton-a-lypse

Suttonalypse sampler
Suttonalypse sampler

Well, I’m back from the most amazing long week-end I’ve had in a long time. I felt like a kid in a candy store, unable to stop trying new things until I collapsed!
Well, ok, not quite. Anyhow, what an event, what an organization. I don’t know how they did such a job, it was like half of the village was in on it, opening doors to so many places and then so many models came from Montreal as well, it was just insane. Great casting job too, all of them were photogenic and able to act, and they came from all ages and many cultural groups.

So in the last three days, I got to shoot at a vineyard, in a school, a museum, up the mountain, at a skate park, at a teen hangout and in a hotel. With approximately 30 different models. And I’ve got to see the most amazing fall landscapes — Sutton is gorgeous in late September. Plus I got to know one of my uncles better: Louis gave me room and board for the duration. And I had great conversations with fellow photographers, versatile models and nice locals. I don’t think I’ve ever had to think so fast and adapt so quickly to all the situations that presented themselves to me. By the end of it, I had a hard time moving my jaw because I talked so much — and I’m usually the silent type. It was like The Amazing Race for photographers.

The way it works is simple: there were about 16 stages, each of them equipped with props, models, location, make-up artists and lights. We were 24 photographers divided in teams of 3 or 4 and sent to one location after another for an hour at each stage. There we would either collaborate or split the models and go shoot by ourselves. Since I got real impatient holding a flash, I just went my own way and the more the week-end advanced, the more I tried to get to places the others did not. You see, it became clear that I had to get unique things as much as possible since my photos will be behind all the exclusives. One of the perks was that I got to chat a lot with the models… speaking of which, many were from Model Mayhem and live in Montreal, so there will definitely be more upcoming shoots with them. They were awesome.

So Claude and Manon, thanks a million for putting this together.

You can view over 100 of the accepted photos in this lightbox.

2 thoughts on “Back from Sutton-a-lypse

Leave a Reply

